Rumble City, LaLa Land

22-Pistepirkko Rumble City, LaLa Land



incl. 24% VAT

Low on stock

1994 classic album, first time on Vinyl. ©+(p) 1994 Bare Bone Business, 2004, 2019 Bone Voyage Recordings

The band themselves categorize their fourth english sung album as “a simple pop and rock album”. Knowing 22-Pistepirkko – (just a) little bit more – that’s of course understated. Indeed there are very accessible, smashing “hit”-songs, while the sound offers a big variety and the arrangements are very playful. Following the bluesier albums Bare Bone Nest (’89) and Big Lupu (’92), where they’ve tried to work within a bigger production set up, 22-Pistepirkko got very excited about both Hip Hop and Electro revolution. At the same time they hit on the original home of blues in Ali Farka Toure’s African blues music. The band wanted to learn how people made great music with these new sampling machines and computers. They purchased all the modern gear needed and soon 22-PP was totally immersed in them. Now they had to try and see how these new programmed elements would fit in with their sonic palette. The first exploratory landmark of that period was “Rumble City, LaLa Land”.

All songs written by 22-Pistepirkko.

Performed by 22-Pistepirkko: Asko Keränen, P-K Keränen Espe Haverinen
additional musicians: Bass in(Just A) Little Bit More by Pave Maijanen, Bass in I Never Said and Tokyo Tiger by Petteri Rajanti. Percussion inCoffee Girl by Johnny Lee Michaels. Autoharp in I Do Do I by Petteri Rajanti. Choir in At The Everybody’s byKallio’s Performing Arts High School Choir.

original cover design: Jani & Asko.
Photos by A.Roinila, Esa Haverinen, Jani, T. Keränen, P.Nordström.
additional lay-out: Jussi Karjalainen, Studio 8

1 Wild Billy
2 Oo My Head
3 (Just A) Little Bit More
4 Tokyo Tiger
5 Snowy Dave
6 At The Everybody's
7 I Never Said
8 I Do Do I
9 Gimme Some Water
10 Blue Balloon
11 Nappy King Blues
12 Coffee Girl